#canada #government


Canadian legal system is based on presumption of innocence. It comes from a number of documents including:

Federal law is enforced by the RCMP[1] throughout Canada, which is also policing in the provinces, except in Quebec and Ontario (which have their own provincial police).

At a federal level, there is also a trial and an appeal court, as well as a supreme court[5] with 9 justices, appointed by the Governor General on advice of the Prime Minister. Their decisions have legal power: they become the official interpretation of the law.

Provinces and territories have a system of courts[6], including a trial court (sometimes called court of Queen's bench) and an appeal court. They also usually have family courts, small claims court, and traffic courts.




The four principles are: rule of law, freedom under the law, democratic principles, and due process (the government must respect your rights)

Habeas Corpus allows you to denounce arbitrary imprisonmentref.

Constitution guarantees peace, good government and orderref.

There are also family courts, small claims courts, and traffic courts